top of page

Ingredients

Colorado Cottage Food Law required disclaimer:

"These products are produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection and may also process common food allergens such as tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, soy, wheat, milk, fish, and crustacean shellfish.  These products are not intended for resale."

See below for more comments on allergens

Vanilla Sugar Cookies

uniced cookies round stacked_edited.jpg

Cookie Ingredients:  

King Arthur GLUTEN FREE measure for measure flour, Granulated sugar, Salted butter, Baking soda, Salt,

Sour cream, Vanilla & nut-free Almond extract. 

This is the base recipe's ingredients.  Variations may contain brown sugar, butter extract, cocoa, chocolate chips, candy coated sprinkles.  I may also use Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free 1 to 1 Baking Flour if King Arthur is not available.  The product will be labeled accordingly..

King Arthur Gluten Free Measure for Measure flour contains:  

Rice flour, whole grain brown rice flour, whole sorghum flour, tapioca starch, potato starch, cellulose, xanthan gum, vitamin and mineral blend [calcium carbonate, niacinamide (vitamin B3), reduced iron, thiamin hydrochloride (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2)].

 

Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free 1 to 1 contains:  

Sweet white rice flour, whole grain brown rice flour, potato starch, whole grain sorghum flour, tapioca flour, xanthan gum.

Royal Icing

icing colors - rainbow_edited.jpg

Royal Icing Ingredients:  Meringue powder, water, light corn syrup, vanilla & butter extract, confectioners sugar, various gel food colorings.​May contain: cocoa powder, lemon extract, almond extract.I do offer Dye Free food colors and I use either, or both, Chef master and Watkins  brands. This does have an add-on fee due to the high cost of this ingredient.

Sprinkles

Image by Alexander Grey

There are many types and names for sprinkles. Confetti, Quins, Nonpareils, Dragees, Jimmies, Sanding Sugar, Crystal Sugar, Dusts..... They are mostly made of sugar & coloring. Most do not state gluten free and do not contain any glutenous ingredients, but some do state that they are produced in a facility that also produces other allergens such as wheat. ​I use many brands and it would be difficult to list every one here. I use a lot of Great Value (Walmart) brand and also Wilton.  As an example, this is the ingredient list for Wilton's rainbow nonpareils.   Wilton: Sugar, Corn Starch, Confectioners' Glaze, FD&C Yellow 5, FD&C Red 3, Carnauba Wax, FD&C Blue 1, FD&C Red 40, FD&C Yellow 6, FD&C Blue 2.   Wilton does list the allergen warning that they process them in a facility that also produces other allergens, including wheat.  Great Value brand does not state this, only that it  "Contains: Soy".

Dairy Free Sugar Cookies

Cookie Ingredients:  King Arthur GLUTEN FREE flour, Country Crock olive oil Plant butter, Eggs, Tofutti, Baking soda, Salt, Vanilla and/or butter extract. Recip may also contain brown sugar and no sour cream.

The product variations will be labeled appropriately.

 

The Dairy Free Sour Cream may vary based on availability, but the brands I typically use are Tofutti & Good Karma.  I like Tofutti best for flavor, but it is soy based and Good Karma is plant based and acceptable for vegan recipes as well. The same for the dairy free butter.  I will typically use either the Country Crock olive oil plant butter or Earth Balance buttery sticks, also both good for vegan recipes.​​

Hot Cocoa Bombs

mediums w. large in middle2.JPG

Hot Cocoa Bomb ingredients Hot cocoa mix, candy melts, marshmallows, various sprinkles.​The bomb shells will be either "almond bark" chocolate flavored coating or candy melts. The main ingredients in these are sugar, palm kernel oil, cocoa, nonfat dry milk, whey powder, whole milk solids, non-fat milk solids, soy lecithin and natural & artificial flavors.​

pink cotton candy.jpg

Dairy Free
Hot Cocoa Bombs

shiny bomb2.JPG

DAIRY FREE Hot Cocoa Bomb ingredients:  

Dairy free hot cocoa mix, Baker's semi-sweet chocolate, marshmallows, various sprinkles.

The bomb shells will be made with the Baker's semi-sweet chocolate, which is dairy free.   Their ingredients are: semi-sweet chocolate (chocolate, sugar, cocoa butter, soy lecithin/emulsifier) & vanilla extract.  Contains: soy  

INFO

All of the products I make are GLUTEN FREE, however, as a Cottage Law baker, I am not "certified" as a gluten free kitchen and am not supposed to state that they are 100% gluten free.

With that said, 3 out of 4 of my family have Celiac and were diagnosed in 2009, so our entire household eats EVERYTHING gluten free, so there is no regular, glutenous type of flour or products in my house or kitchen.  So eventhough I can't be certified as gluten free, the level of risk for even cross-contamination is extremely low, if not impossible.  

CROSS-CONTAMINATION

If you are gluten free yourself, you've realized that everyone has a different opinion on cross-contamination and what level of this they are willing to consume.  For example, some will eat a naturally gluten free tortilla chip at a restaurant that has been fried in the same oil as other glutenous foods has been fried in.  Another example is with croutons.  If the restaurant accidentally puts croutons on your salad, some will just remove them and eat the salad, and some will send it back for a brand-new salad.  I understand this as my mother is the later and gets very sick, very quickly if she gets just an accidental crumb in her food.  Me on the other hand, I would not get externally sick at all, although with Celiac, there is the intestinal villi that are affected even if we can't see it or feel any side effects immediately.  However, watching my mom and my children's journey, I also understand that intestinal villi do grow back when you stop eating gluten, which then prevents the other side effects of a compromised intestinal tract and gut from continuing to be damaged. 

Then there is someone who is Gluten intolerant, but not Celiac.  I actually believe that often, these with an intolerance have a negative, external side effect more often than one with Celiac.  But again, everyone's response is so different and varied, that you can't state that as 100% fact as seen with the example of my mom's reaction and my children's non-reaction.  

With all that said, because I bake for a wide variety of gluten free people, I have to be more careful

with my bakes to cover everyone, so it will not affect those that do react negatively to gluten. 

VANILLA

If you have a concern about vanilla extract being gluten free, please review this article linked below.

 This is a quick summary of the article, "Vanilla is gluten-free so buy whatever brand of it you want to."

Is Vanilla Gluten-Free?

Chocolate Chips

If you have a concern about chocolate chips being gluten free, linked below is an article outlining many of the brands on the market currently.  As she says in the article, however, she wrote it in 2022 and manufacturers can change their ingredients without notice, so if your product is not labeled as certified gluten free, it is best to always check to confirm if it is gluten free when you buy it.  When I bake with chocolate chips, I typically buy Enjoy Life to be safe and cover all bases as it is labeled gluten free.

Are Chocolate Chips Gluten-free? (And What Brands To Buy) - Texanerin Baking

If you have any other gluten free questions or concerns, please message me so we can discuss.

gluten free logo.jpg
bottom of page